Printer-friendly version PDF version

Workshop Handouts


Please click a link below for download of the DATE 2018 Workshop handout material. Download is possible only for registered Workshop participants. You have received the password by e-mail or at the on-site registration desk.

You don't need a username!

If a Workshop is not listed below, the organizers have not yet provided the handout material.

W02 Emerging Memory Solutions & Applications - Technology, Manufacturing, Architectures, Design, Automation and Test


W03 New Platforms for Future Cars: Current and Emerging Trends

Proceedings for the accepted short papers (short presentations in the program) and the slides of the presentations of the invited speakers are now available.

W04 Design Automation for Understanding Hardware Designs (DUHDE5)


W05 Trustworthy Manufacturing and Utilization of Secure Devices (TRUDEVICE 2018)


DATE 2018 in Dresden received over 1,200 registrations from international experts, who celebrated another exciting conference edition


The DATE 2018 conference and exhibition attracted more than 1,200 registrations from over 40 countries and concluded with excellent feedback from both participants and exhibitors.

This year, the conference took place for the fifth time in the International Congress Center Dresden, Germany, on March 19 – 23, 2018.

Out of a total of 766 paper submissions received, 39% came from authors in Europe, 26% of submissions were from America, 34% from Asia, and 1% from the rest of the world. This distribution clearly demonstrates DATE’s international character, global reach, and impact.

For the 21st successive year, DATE presented an exciting technical programme, comprising 79 technical sessions including 8 Exhibition Theatre sessions.

The DATE week started on Monday with four in-depth technical tutorials on the four main tracks of DATE as well as three industry hands-on tutorials given by leading experts in their respective fields. Technical topics covered were emerging technologies for computing, industrial internet-of-things (IoT), reliability from physics to CAD, virtual prototyping and low-power design, as well as industrial topics on building ARM powered IoT, computer vision for automated driving in MATLAB, and how to implement domain-specific modeling languages.

Also on Monday, DATE hosted the first and very successful edition of a new forum, “Advancing Diversity in Electronic Design Automation (DivEDA)”, which aims to increase the number and visibility of women and underrepresented minorities in the research community.

The plenary keynote speakers on Tuesday were Prof. Amnon Shashua, CEO & CTO of Mobileye, an Intel company, and Senior Vice President of Intel Corporation, whose talk was about “The Responsibility Sensitive Safety (RSS) Formal Model toward Safety Guarantees for Autonomous Vehicles” and Dr. Christopher Voigt, Professor of Biological Engineering at MIT, who talked about “Programming Living Cells: Design Automation to Map Circuits to DNA”. On the same day, the Executive Track offered a series of business panels with executive speakers from companies leading the design and automation industry, discussing hot topics.

DATE Best IP Award 2018


The DATE Best IP Award 2018 goes to:

Jeroen van Dijk¹, Andrei Vladimirescu², Masoud Babaie¹, Edoardo Charbon¹ and Fabio Sebastiano¹

¹Delft University of Technology, NL; ²University of California, Berkeley, US

"Co-design Methodology for Scalable Quantum Processors and their Classical Electronic Interface"

DATE Proceedings


DATE 2018 Impressions


Opening Session


Read more ...

Previous Slide 1/17 Next

Monday Tutorials, IoT Student Challenge, Forum: Advancing Diversity in EDA and PhD Forum

Previous Slide 1/14 Next

More pictures ...

EDAA Achievement Award 2018 goes to Mary Jane Irwin


The Achievement Award is given to individuals who made outstanding contributions to the state of the art in electronic design, automation and testing of electronic systems in their life. In order to be eligible, candidates must have made innovative contributions which had an impact on the way electronic systems are being designed.

Dr. Mary Jane IrwinDr. Irwin has been on the faculty at Penn State since 1977 where she currently holds the title of Emeritus Evan Pugh University Professor in Computer Science and Engineering. Prior to retirement in July 2017, she also was the A. Robert Noll Chair in Engineering in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. She has devoted her entire career to promote the field of design and design automation and computer architecture. She has spent close to four decades contributing in a variety of ways to the field.

DATE 2018 Awards Ceremony


DATE Fellow Award, IEEE CEDA Service Award and IEEE CS TTTC Outstanding Contribution Award

Prof. David Atienza
For outstanding service contribution as General Chair of DATE 2017
Prof. David Atienza

IEEE Fellow Award

Prof. Tajana Simunic Rosing
University of California San Diego, US
elevated to IEEE Fellow
Prof. Tajana Simunic Rosing

Outstanding Dissertation Award - The Winners are ...


New directions in software design and optimization for embedded, cyber-physical and secure systems

Alessandro Biondi, Ph.D. (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna, Pisa, IT; Advisor: Prof. G. Buttazzo and Prof. M. di Natale)

Thesis: "Analysis and Design Optimization of Real-Time Engine Control Software"

New directions in system-on-chip platforms co-design, novel emerging architectures and system-level management

Matthias Jung, Ph.D. (University of Kaiserslautern, DE; Advisor: Prof. B. Jacob and N. Wehn)

Thesis: "System-Level Modeling, Analysis and Optimization of DRAM Memories and Controller Architectures"

New directions in logic, physical design and CAD for analog/mixed-signal, nano-scale and emerging technologies

Rajendra Bishnoi, Ph.D. (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, DE; Advisor: Prof. M. Tahoori and Dr. G. Prenat)

Thesis: "Performance Spintronic Memories"

New directions in safety, reliability and security-aware hardware design, validation and test for systems and circuits

Tobias Schneider, Ph.D. (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, DE; Advisor: Prof. T. Guneysu and Prof. A. Moradi)

Thesis: "Hardware-Based Countermeasures Against Physical Attacks"

PhD Forum Best Poster Prize supported by EDAA, ACM Sigda and IEEE CEDA


The PhD Forum Best Poster Prizes goes to:

Oliver Keszocze, University of Bremen, DE

"Exact Design of Digital Microfluidic Biochips"

Anirudh Iyengar and Swaroop Ghosh, Pennsylvania State University, US

"Spintronic Memory towards Secure and Energy-Efficient Computing"